The National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (NAAF) will be honouring some of Canada’s most influential and outstanding First Nations, Inuit and Métis people at this year’s 17th annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA).

With less than a month away, the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) show is in full production to continue its mission in celebrating Aboriginal Canadians who have made a profound positive impact in their communities, across Canada and worldwide. As this year’s recipients anticipate the day, partners increase their support allowing for the event to be in absolute force. On Friday, March 26th, 2010, the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) will take place in Regina, Saskatchewan where 14 extraordinary recipients will be honoured for their outstanding talent and dedicated service.

The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) were established to encourage and celebrate excellence in the Aboriginal community. The National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (NAAF) created the awards in 1993, in conjunction with the United Nation’s International Decade of the World’s Indigenous Peoples. The Awards recognize the outstanding career achievements of First Nations, Inuit and Métis people in diverse occupations. Now entering its 17th year, these Awards have become a Canadian institution.

Some of this year’s notable honourees include political activist and newspaper editor, Kenneth Atsenhaienton Deer who served as the Chairman/Rapporteur of the UN Workshop on Indigenous Media in New York. Mr. Deer was one of the first Indigenous people to ever hold this role in the United Nations.

Hosted by Andrea Menard (The Velvet Devil, Rabbit Fall) alongside Raoul Trujillo (True Blood, Apocalypto), with performances by Buffy Sainte-Marie, Crystal Shawanda, Elisapie Isaac, Leemai Lafontaine, Red Bull, Wanuskewin International Dance Troupe, Michael Greyeyes and an appearance by Lorne Cardinal, the 17th annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) will recognize the achievements of the following individuals:

William Commanda, OCLifetime Achievement Award
Skawenniio BarnesSpecial Youth Award
Kananginak PootoogookArts
Ellen MelcoskyBusiness & Commerce
Tom Crane BearCulture, Heritage & Spirituality
Dr. Raoul McKayEducation
Danny BeatonEnvironment & Natural Resources
Madeleine Kētēskwew Dion Stout, BN, MA, Ph.D (Hon.)Health
Donald E. Worme, QC, IPCLaw & Justice
Kenneth Atsenhaienton DeerMedia & Communications
Hon. Eric William RobinsonPolitics
Edith CloutierPublic Service
Monica PinetteSports
Doug HenryTechnology & Trades

The National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (NAAF) proudly announces Global Television and the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) as the returning exclusive broadcast partners of the 17th annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA).

Held in Regina, Saskatchewan, the 2010 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) focuses on the theme of Potential and, the ability within us all to achieve greatness, despite obstacles.

img-NAAFThe National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (NAAF) is a charitable organization dedicated to raising funds to deliver programs that provide the tools necessary for Aboriginal peoples, especially youth to achieve their potential. To date the Foundation through its Education Program has awarded more than $37-million in scholarships and bursaries to more than 9,800 First Nations, Inuit and Métis students nationwide.

NAAA Partners for 2009/2010

Lead Partners
Government of Canada

Government of Saskatchewan
Canwest – Aboriginal Peoples Television Network – Nexen Inc. – Suncor Energy Foundation – Air Canada – Tribal Councils Investment Group of Manitoba Ltd. – BP Canada Energy Company – Fort McKay Group of Companies – Casino Rama – Rio Tinto – SaskTel – Cameco Corporation – PotashCorp – Government of Nunavut – Government of the Northwest Territories – City of Regina – Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life – Radisson Plaza Hotel Saskatchewan, Regina Leader-Post, Saskatoon Phoenix-Star


Available for Interviews:

Jamie Monastyrski, Director of Communications

Get your tickets NOW!

17th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards
Regina Conexus Arts Centre – March 26, 2010
Visit to purchase your tickets

For media inquiries please contact:
Kevin Pennant [email protected]
Toronto: 416.596.2978
Los Angeles: 818.748.7517